I am managing to get in two posts in December and I am pretty impressed with myself for that. There is much to be said for this accomplishment considering all that I’ve had going on. But, we’ve finished most of the holiday baking, created a new tradition for me in the process, and gotten the majority of the Christmas shopping and wrapping done. I still have a few last minute gifts to pick up though but can’t do that until payday. So, unfortunately I will be one of those many people at Walmart on Christmas Eve trying to snatch up the last of the gifting items. But between work and doctors and so forth its been a very hectic month or two.

So, let’s start with the fun stuff!

12391301_1194608713901178_7801183348944272988_nOur house has all these incredible smells this time of year. My momma and I are baking fools. I think I mentioned having given her the stand mixer as an early Christmas present in the last post and showed off our Thanksgiving creation. Well, we also spent four days working on this beauty. And we really had a blast doing it.  We also made about eight dozen cookies and spent loads of time decorating sugar cookies and gingerbread cookies.

The picture is a bit misleading about the size of that house though. It ended up being about 11 inches tall and is sitting on a 16 by 16 inch board. Yes, it was all edible with few exceptions. wrappers on a couple of the candies and then the little figurines were originally ring pops that we snipped the ring off of but left them on the pedestals to attach to the board.

12366218_1197306083631441_6516582748245617370_nAll the cookies we’ve made have been going into gifts and I’ve been taking to the office as a holiday treat for my customers. I’m just nice like that I guess. But then we also made a new tradition with the gingerbread house. After some thought we decided to donate the house and these cupcakes to a special needs children care center here locally.  They had their Christmas party yesterday and we were able to take them on Friday when I was going to the follow up on the hospital stay last month. I hope that the kids enjoyed them.  I know that eyes were lighting up when we brought it in to drop it off. So it was a good thing.

This year has brought about some tough realizations for me. Primarily that I won’t have kids to pass on these fun traditions to. Anyone who knows me personally knows how much I love kids in general. So, I’ve decided to make it a tradition of making a cake or gingerbread house or something like it to donate to the center each year or some other children-related nonprofit. Its both a lot of work and a ton of fun. And since I can’t have kids of my own, doing something with children to give back seems to me to be a great idea.

The follow up went well and that means that there are a number of things that are going to happen in year thirty seven for me. The whole experience was a wake up call about my health. Being in the hospital and nearly having to be shocked to get my heart back in rhythm was pretty scary. So my Christmas gift to myself is getting back into a gym. And as a result getting back to feeling better about myself.

This year has been about embracing my own self-worth and learning to set boundaries.  Sometimes those boundaries change things. Sometimes they make things better and then there are times when they complicate things.  In the end it is about respecting yourself and the person that you are. For a long time I have tried to make everyone else comfortable and happy. So much so that I neglected myself in the process. There are times when old habits die hard but, it is time to stop putting everyone ahead of my own goals and happiness.

All that being said, those are reflections for another post. I think I can manage another one before we finally see the end of 2015. Until then, I leave you with a sweet tooth from all the goodies. And wish you all a very Merry Christmas just in case I don’t post again before the big day. Hope you get everything on your wishlist and realize the true meaning of the season as well.

