December arrived before I even knew that November was over. I’m quite serious about this. The time seems to fly by now. The holiday season is all a blur to me anymore. Its one major preparation after another. There is decorating to do, things to bake, crafts to make, and no, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This year I’m just thankful that I’m surrounded by family this year. I was on my own last year for Christmas and I sat here watching sappy movies and crying when I wasn’t working. I was also working a retail job that left me with little money to buy gifts. I was barely scraping by. This year, while, I’m still not able to go decadent with my gifting, I am able to do some for the special people in my life and that feels really good.

20151126_222931[1]Thanksgiving went well, I think. I spent two days working with my mother and making the cake pictured here. I do enjoy it for the special occasions in the family. I’m not entirely sure it is something that I would want to do full time for profit though. I could see myself doing it for family and friends if they asked now and then. I think I’ll leave the bakery opening to my niece though. She’s very excited about it and trying to learn. So I am looking forward to her help with our Christmas cake.

It is always funny to me how quickly things change though. It seems that only yesterday all the nieces and nephews were just babies. Now they’re all so grown up that it just makes me feel every bit my age.  Of course, that feeling could have to do with the week or so before when I was in the hospital.  Just suffice it to say that a full “state of the fluff” wellness post is on its way. There are going to be some big changes for me in the next few months. As soon as I iron out some details and get clearance from the doctor, my butt is getting back to the gym.

I am also going to need to recommit to finishing projects. I let way too much slide for the sake of being social the past six months. Balance is key and I’ve got to figure out a way to do that. So, yes, there are rants, thoughts etc coming but they won’t be here tonight.

0d7b10dc01eeac1a5ec433122dbf2681For now, I’m going to just enjoy the peace and the weight being lifted from knowing that it hasn’t all been in my head. I’m not a hypochondriac. There are legitimate issues going on. There is also a slew of things that I should have listened to my gut about and cut things out earlier but, I didn’t and that’s okay. Things will shape up sooner than I think. I know that. Change is good. Acceptance is good. And learning to be in the moment and focused on things that matter to me, is definitely very good. I don’t have to make excuses or feel guilty. I’ve realized that it is not up to me to make sure everyone else is happy all the time. I need to find my own happiness where I can. If that means alone time with a manuscript or my pup then that’s what it will be. The holidays are a time to recharge my sense of well being. Its a time for me to reflect and understand where I’ve been, what I’ve learned, and to start the next year with a clean slate and a game plan for the year being better than the last one.

I’ll clear all of this up with other posts this weekend but, for now, I just wanted to stop in and let everyone know that I’m alive, I’m better than I was, and that I have a lot to share as time permits through the holidays.

So get in gear! Be jolly and find your bliss. Put on a smile and sing a song because we all know that : The best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear!

If you’d like me to sing a favorite carol to kick off my youtube channel; leave me a comment and suggest a tune. You may be surprised what you find here in the next few weeks.

