Tags

, , , ,

A writer is never really all that stationary in life. We’re always dreaming and concocting new characters, plots, and other details. It is part of what allows us to effectively create the escapes from reality that so many enjoy. It is never a surprise to me when new ideas come up. It is always perplexing how to work from one to the next though.

The current project is a fairly heavy one. It is taking a great deal more time to complete than I anticipated. It has very strong spiritual elements in it that often get me into trouble with various circles. This particular series is a calling. I feel like it is something that I must write. So, I am relying on God to supply the words and the direction that the plot will take. He hasn’t failed me yet. I just need to have more hours in the day to work on it.

inspirationWhat is funny about this is that, just as I am working on that manuscript, I have an epiphany for another series.  It is a good idea to. Something very classic and not what I’m used to working with. So now, I’m toiling away with pen and a notebook with characters and plots and settings. This is going to require some research and that is something that I need time to accomplish. Starting early is a good way to stay on top and maximize my chances of winning the challenge this year.

Sometimes inspiration can strike at the most awkward moments. I’ve had epiphanies in the middle of a task at work when I can’t stop to write it down. I have also experienced the 3:00 AM wake up out of a dead sleep to write things down so I don’t forget them. I don’t think that you can call yourself a writer until you’ve lost sleep over a story idea.

So what do I do? I continue working on the manuscript that is heavy when I’m at the writing desk. During the day, with my trusty notebook and colored pens, I’m making notes and starting the process for a new project.

Over the weekend I did something out of the norm for me. I got up early and went over to Tyler to meet a friend for lunch. For once I didn’t spend my entire day off at the writing desk. I went over to Barnes and Noble, had coffee, bought a book for research purposes, and then had a fantastic lunch with my friend Greg. We came back to my place and spent the evening playing cards and being social. I had a good time and look forward to doing it again.

enhanced-buzz-4788-1371545788-1In fact, with the change in pace I’ve come to realize how important it is to be social. I admit that I have a tendency to find excuses to be a hermit. I blame it on the book, on being tired, on being at work so much, and on finances.  Most of the time I’m happy to be at my laptop. I know it keeps me from meeting people whether for simple social interaction or even to help further my career. However, it is comfortable for me. With my social track record I guess, I can’t blame myself for being a little shy about getting back out there. I’ve never been the social butterfly but I did once have a social life. Right now, my weekends look mostly like the picture of Ms. Sexton here. Only my desk is messier, I think.

The bottom line for me is that I know getting out into the world needs to happen more often. Having a support network is important. Finding a peer group is a challenge here. I think that I have a different vision for a writers group than what is available to me locally. What’s worse is that my current work schedule doesn’t allow me to attend meetings of the ones already established. So, what’s a writer to do? Start one, of course. That’s the obvious answer. In the meantime, I’ve decided to take Saturdays and establish a personal routine of a coffee house. I’m on a mission to find one with the right atmosphere. Even if that means I have to drive into Tyler every week to do it. As I’ve been telling myself lately, I am worth the effort. Doing these things that I enjoy is an act of self-love. So taking myself on a weekly date is something I need to start doing whether it involves writing or not.

I enjoyed the company and conversation. I had a great time just sitting around and playing cards. I would like to do that more often. Just like I would like to have an adventure or two before the holidays roll around. I’ll have to explore options in another post.

 

