Tags

, , , , , ,

Goodbye-2014-hello-2015With the year coming to a fast close, I am thinking about all the things that have happened and what’s changed me over the last 12 months. In many ways it has been a difficult year. The process of reclaiming your life after a major change is always full of hard moments. There were times when I felt liberated and times when I felt hindered. There were moments of perfect clarity and times that I was completely overwhelmed. For me, there were a lot of firsts.

It was like getting my first job all over again. The driving job was a good transition for me. Despite the crazy hours, lack of permanence, and instability of it all, it gave me some spending money and time to think. At the store it has been tough getting used to punching a time clock again. It has been good for me to be out among people again though. Just the social interaction I get at work has helped me to get out of my shell. It has given me motivation to keep working on building my life into something more than it has been up until now.

I took my first trip by plane. (Well, that I can recall. My mother tells me that I flew when I was a young girl.) It was a crazy three days of travel to get to Wisconsin that took me through Dallas, Atlanta, and Chicago. Flying standby is definitely a bit of an adventure in itself. I enjoyed my experience on the plane even if I didn’t enjoy much of my time in Wisconsin. Super cold temperatures, awkward bosses, and dealing with sexual harassment in the workplace for the first time ever.

2566aed1a5ec1d936925c51c2f552654I went on a date for the first time with a man who was a true gentleman. It was the first time I’ve been on a date that I didn’t feel pressured to put out. It’s made me rethink many things about relationships and given me the motivation to take time to figure myself out this past year and what I want in a relationship. It’s also given me the courage to get back out there and try to date again. Realizing that yes, there are decent men out there gave me some hope. Let’s see how long it takes online dating to squash that.

I was able to do some things that I wanted to do this year. That included taking an extended trip to see family in June. It was like a vacation. I attended a family reunion. Where my grandparents, mom, her brothers, and myself as a third generation sang together for the others. It was a family tradition that I was excited to be a part of. And I got to spend some precious time with my nieces and brother.

I published a new book and I spent a fair amount of time doing some marketing work on that. It’s still available on Amazon and my website if you’re interested in them. I also started work on two new projects. And that is keeping me busy.

I got my first new car. And that came with a lot of freedom this last month or so. Definitely that was one of my top three major accomplishments this year.

2014 has been a year of tying up loose ends so that I can transition. I suppose you could call this my “chrysalis” year. I definitely feel like I have transformed in many ways. I believe that 2015 will continue to see a better version of myself emerge.

inspiration-1I’ll be posting resolutions and goals separately over the next week but, I thought it was better to say goodbye to 2014 in its own post. That way I can leave all of the negative behind and look forward to what’s around the corner.

This is the last post of the year. So, I will see you all in 2015 with a bigger and better blog. The Fluff’s story is just getting started. I hope that you’ll join me on the journey. And I sincerely hope that you all have a safe an happy time celebrating tonight.

