Tags

, , , ,

It isn’t any secret that I am a huge fan of Downton Abbey. I love the fashion and drama of it all. It is the classy start to my year that makes me yearn for simpler times, tea, dinner parties, and the art of conversation. In my experience those things are rare to find in modern times. That makes me sad. To me, today’s society has lost a lot of her charm, or maybe I just haven’t found it. At any rate, there are a number of favorite quotes from the show. But the one that comes to mind right now is what I’ve used fort he title of this entry. Dame Maggie Smith is impeccable as The Dowager Countess of Grantham and her question about a weekend is actually pretty relevant for me.

Retail work is different from anything considered a “normal” job. I’m used to working in offices where everything is Monday through Friday and a fixed schedule. Knowing when you’re going to work is a real perk. My schedule never stays the same. Though I seem to work every Sunday. I get a schedule on Wednesdays or Thursdays for the following week. I typically have split days off. Which makes planning for anything a major fiasco. Of course, where I work they have a good system that allows you to request days off. So, if you have enough notice, anything is possible but it isn’t always guaranteed.

Then there is part of it where you have to work with the public. That alone will often make you happy for days off. Sometimes I wonder about the process of natural selection. I work at the fuel center for a local grocery chain. I sit in a booth and process transactions for prepay. But the amount of people who don’t use common sense at the pump is just astounding. I have definitely developed a few pet peeves about human behavior since I started working there but, that is a post for another time.

I try to take advantage of my days off. Writing is like a second job though. So I never really take a weekend or days off. I’m always working. It just so happens that I love writing. I spend a lot of my time with a pen in my hand or fingers on the keys of my keyboard. But, once in a while I like to take my day off and do something fun. I’m overdue a day out actually. I should make some plans to go out and have a cafe day at some point in the next week or two. A good cappuccino and time to just be a patron instead of in the customer service seat is just what I need to prod the muse. And it is a perfect way to kick off the Fall. In fact, I may need to make it a weekly event.

So how do you spend your weekend? Do you spend it alone or with friends? Do you go out, stay in, or both? Of all the things you can choose to do, as a single person, what do you choose to do when you want to relax and recharge?

 

