Tags

, , , , ,

2013 has come and gone in what feels like the blink of an eye. I made a lot of changes in that year span. I learned a lot about life and about myself since my divorce was filed. I accomplished the goal of getting healthier that I set for myself this time last year and while, I’m not where I wanted to be, I have made considerable progress in that. And I know that the experiences that I’ve had have made a bigger impact than I originally gave them credit for.

Happy-New-Year-Wishes-2014-WallpapersAmong the things that I learned in the past 12 months is that happiness is the biggest factor in my physical well-being. There have been a lot of happy moments in the past year and that is where most of my physical changes occurred. I got more active, I spent time laughing, and initially doing things that I loved. It was all part of my process of picking up the pieces. I started new endeavors, including The State of the Fluff that I wanted to see successful. I even set some goals for myself that were reachable and I did really well at those until I let some other things get in the way.

For 2014 there will be goals. My resolutions, however, have less to do with numbers on a scale or dress sizes than they do about being well in a more holistic way. I’ve spent a good amount of my life making other people happy, or at least trying to. It is past time for me to start focusing on what makes me happy. Certainly no one else is going to do that, no matter how much I want that to be the case. I am focusing on building a life for myself. That includes consciously dropping habits that have been unhealthy.

keep-calm-and-reinvent-yourselfIt is about behavior modification, finding my happiness. It will be more fun, music, laughter, social time with some (likely) new friends, and definitely writing. More emphasis on my writing career is definitely at the top of my list. Since I won’t make that happen for myself if I allow other people to take a priority over that. There will be less of me taking a back seat to anything for anyone, less tears over being emotionally wrecked, less trying to fit someone else’s mold for me. Yes, it is time for me to reclaim what I had when I was a teenager with big dreams.

You see, I was a determined chick in those days. I was ready to see the world, forge my own path, and make something of my life. I need to get back to that. I was artsy, fearless, and less concerned with the state of my marital status. I was out to have fun, enjoy living, and making things happen for me. I wanted to learn and grow. I don’t know where that went but, I realize that it is time to go back to that state of mind.

Maybe 35 is the new 25. I know that it is definitely a turning point for me. And I’m inspired to go above and beyond this year. Its time to break out of that shell I’ve found myself in and show the world what I am really made of.

In the last couple weeks I’ve been on the search for the theme song of the next year. There are two that really speak to me. I resolve to start every workout with them. They are inspiring, uplifting, and speak volumes to where I am in my life. Maybe they’ll inspire you as well. But, just know that happiness is the key. Life is too short to be anything but. If it is time for you to shed your own baggage and purge your life of that which weighs you down, just know that you’re not alone.

May 2014 find you making strides in the direction of your own unique dreams my friends. May it be prosperous, full of friends, family, laughter, and moments that make you want to smile.

Happy New Year!

