Tags

, , ,

For those who aren’t aware, I write more than just a blog. I have long had a passion for fiction and have been writing stories since I was a teenager and in high school. Last year I published my first novel The Secret of the Storm and I just finished work on a project that is the first in a series I’ve created. So, we’ll be putting that out sometime in the near future. So, I am constantly working on some project or another.

2013-Participant-Vertical-BannerBeing primarily a novelist, I decided to take part in an annual event called NanoWrimo. If you haven’t heard of it, the website offers all the information you can possibly want. In a nutshell, it is a challenge for writers to complete a 50,000 word manuscript in 30 days. It is daunting to say the least, even for those who are more seasoned at penning works of that length. I’ve completed the challenge in past years. I honestly didn’t think that it would be that big a challenge but, I have a lot more on my plate than I did in years past.

Since the last time I did the challenge, I’ve written another book, become a full-time stay at home mom who is home schooling for a first grade curriculum. Let me just say that the role of mom is misleading. You’re never “just a mom”. It is a full time job to be a proper parent. As “mom” you’re wearing way too many hats to keep track of. My days are much more hectic than they used to be. My feet hit the floor running every morning and I don’t really get a chance to slow down and just be me anymore. Or maybe it is more that I don’t get to be who I used to be.

It is funny how life changes you.

I’ve been floundering with my word count this year. Honestly, I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t make it to the finish line in time. I’m satisfied knowing that I will eventually make the mark and have another book to publish. And no, this year’s project is not the sequel to the book coming out in early 2014.

I am still working on things for you here. I’m trying to round up some products and services that I can review. I was blessed with a donation of workout DVDs that I will be reviewing as I try them out. From simple walking workouts to more complicated dance workouts and toning. I plan to try them all. I will be posting about them as I go along. Right now, my biggest challenge is finding the time within my already busy schedule to do the workouts. Even though I know I should make them a priority, for my own sake, I always seem to have too much on my plate at any given time.

meAlso, am I the only one who is apprehensive about people watching them exercise? Honestly, I would rather be all by myself to do the exercise thing. I don’t even like it when the kiddo comes in to watch me. And no matter how much I try to get her occupied with other things, she is always coming back in here within five minutes. That’s the thing about kids. They rarely do what you intend or want them to do. That’s what makes parenting such a huge challenge in my opinion.

Finding the time to write on the fiction is challenging as well. No matter what I do, I can’t find the uninterrupted time needed to get any serious word count in. My stress level isn’t helping the fact that I can’t seem to concentrate lately.

Such is the life of a writer trying to do so many things at once.

