Tags

, , ,

I thought I had already made a post about this but, it would seem that I am remiss in my posting lately.

I was doing laundry last week at the laundromat. They have one of those pop a quarter in and get your weight scales. So, I decided i was overdue for a weigh-in and took my quarter over as my 10 loads of laundry were tumbling away in the dryer.  It took a few seconds to register a reading but when it did, I was rather ecstatic.

12-pounds-lostI LOST TWELVE POUNDS!!!

Yes, I was actually down 12 pounds and I was so excited about that. Considering that I’m now starting to think toward training for the 5K in March, I think that’s pretty darned good!

The last week I’ve done at least three days at 1 mile per walk. With all my grocery shopping today, I did 1.32 miles. Yes, I am determined to make this happen.  In fact, my old college roommate sent me some of her old workout videos and I’m looking forward to getting on with doing them.  I start in the morning. They’re a little faster in pace than I am accustomed to but, I have to keep working on this and building my stamina for it.

I am starting some of those tomorrow.  Specifically the Leslie Sansone walking workout. For those interested in it, I will say that I’ve found it simple enough to do and doesn’t require any special equipment either. It is a good alternative if you don’t have a treadmill or access to a gym (like me).  I find it to be an ideal solution for me at the moment. It gets me moving, gives me something of a goal to work toward each time I try to work out, and makes it easier to stay safe. Being able to workout inside where I can control a good amount of concerning factors is a good thing.

Among those factors is a safety issue. We don’t live in a great neighborhood. While our immediate complex of apartments is “okay” I don’t think I’m comfortable with the surrounding area that I would be walking in.  Walking inside is preferable since I can’t really go to a park or anything right now.

Registration for the 5K opens up this week on the 8th of November. I want so much to take advantage of the early bird registration but, I don’t think it will be possible.  There are a number of things going on in my life that are causing me a fair amount of stress. I’m trying not to let it all get to me though. I’m trying to focus on what I can do instead of what I can’t. Example being that I’m focusing on the blessing of the workout videos that I wouldn’t have otherwise. They enable me to get off my butt and move more in a focused manner.

I am also thankful that we got through Halloween without much incident with the candy.  And that I have a supportive family who are doing their best to help me through a difficult time.  I’m really quite blessed to have them and their support in all that I’m doing.

So, to give you something to use that I’m doing as well. Leslie Sansone’s walking workout can be found on Youtube. This is the video that I tried. I hope that you’ll find it useful and join me in trying to get moving.

